top of page
Search
yunc14

Reflection



Transformative Learning

In this course I learned how to annotating films and able to connect to the course objective. I was always wondering how those podcaster people reviewing a film, now I know the works that behind their podcast. Annotating a film is not a easy thing to do, it require people to pay attention on each detail that director try to show and make a comment about it. At the beginning of the source I have no idea how the Disney films can able to connect to the social construction ideas for the modern society. During the process of learning the concept of social construction in term of the gender norms that plays in the Disney films, I notice that even the fairy tales films is teaching their audience about the positive gender norms that each characters shows up. For the first couple assessments I thought we are focusing on feminisms since it all about talking about how the society treat women unequally than men. But while I am processing the assignments I understand is in such order from feminisms to masculinity and to the end of podcast which is the combination of all of it. I think is because we need to understand each segment then able to processing these information in term of combination of these segments together successfully.


Everything that I have learned in the course will cause my to act differently. For example, in the past I was watching film just for fun and never think about the purpose of the film, now I will pay more attention on what the films are try to say and do some research on the background that confused me. The most impressive assignment out of all of them that I done is the Kill Us Softy video analysis. Before watch this video I never think there are such problem in the advertising industry. I think because it is so common that causes me to ignore the problem behind the advertising environment which is make me think of what are the other common problem that I missed because is so common that we are ignore it. This class make me become a better reader and communicator by doing the reading assignments and podcast group project. Using the techniques that shows on the reading assignments is help me understanding more about the article about and make connection with my own writing. For the podcast group project is required me to talk and communicate with my groupmate since the role I have is to write the scripts. It is give me a brand new experience of writing the scripts.


Taking Stock

In this course the biggest issue for me is the time management. This quarter definitely is my most stress one so far. The amount of works that I have in school and outside school create a mess of my time. My education course is require me to done 50 hours for my fieldwork plus 16 hours of of my job hours it makes me have a lack of time to focused on the assignment for this course so that why I always turn in the work in the last minutes. This is the problem that I need to fix for my time management and need to figure out a way to make the planning times so I won't always in a rush mood for my works. Time management always is my problems and every time I made an improvement, there always will have a new problem that I need to deal with especially under this COVID situation, it is magnify my laziness.


The collaboration issues that I have during the podcast group project is we do not have enough time to communicate since the restriction of zoom meeting that causes we only have 40 minutes to talk about our thought about the podcast and segments that each of us wants to talk. My role for the podcast project is to write the script but somehow I feel it is hard to gathering information from my groupmate about the segment that they are talking about. I think this is because I did not make a clear vision about what I need for the script and does not leave them a enough time to do so. So if I need to re-doing the project, I will tell my groupmate what I need for the scripts at the beginning of each meeting.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page